Optimist and Realist

Things have been pretty crappy overall for at least the past two years.  At the same time some awesome things have gone down.  I am choosing to focus on the positive and be grateful for the good things in my life.  I feel that if I don’t do that, I will drown in the negative.  This isn’t to say that I am not accepting the bad shit.  I am not denying it.  I let myself feel sad, feel angry, feel depressed, etc.  But, I also feel happy, excited, nervous and grateful. Sort of like how 2012 was really difficult for many many people, but overall, it was one of the better years in human history.

I cannot tell other people how to feel or act, but I know what seems to be working for me.  Being open and vulnerable has opened me up to support from friends both near and far that I wouldn’t have received if I had just shut down I am wont to do.    I am trying to crowd out the negative voices in my head and accept compliments and maybe even believe them.  I need to project an aura of confidence both personally and professionally and if that requires me to ‘fake it till I make it’ then so be it.  This next year is ripe for change and progress and I need to make it happen.

2 thoughts on “Optimist and Realist

  1. oopaloo

    I’ve been thinking of you, Bea. That was a great post. Sometimes life is hard. The best thing you can do is show up and live out loud. Feliz año nuevo.

    Reply

Leave a comment